Ayr Rugby Football Club

 

The Team

We have a squad of 30 registered boys from a range of schools in Ayr and surrounding area.

 

General Information

We train on Mondays, 4.30pm-6pm and Wednesdays, 6pm-7.30pm at Doonside Playing Fields.  If your son is interested please come along; the only equipment required to play is a mouth guard.

 

Registration Form

Download a registration form here.

 

Team Selection

It is always a difficult choice when we have 30 registered players and can only chose 13 plus 4 subs for each team. Our aim is to develop all of our players and to teach them all the fundamentals of rugby. We aim to give game time to all boys who are training regularly; it is only fair to pick kids who make most of the training sessions. At some fixtures the opposition will be strong, so we will select relatively experienced squads, there is no point in sending a less experienced team to play in a strong fixture and come away discouraged because they are convincingly beaten. We try to match our players against suitable opposition, especially those who are relatively new to the game. Please do not be downhearted if you are not selected; there will be plenty of opportunities to play matches this season. However, it is important from a safety and a confidence point of view that we do not put players into matches against opposition that they are not ready for.

 

Contact

Head coach - Victoria Birrell  This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.  07947 978585

Coach - Stu McGlynn  This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.  07770 681838

Coach - Roy Logie  This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.  07875 908992

Coach - Paul Honthy  This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.  07562 598562

 

2017/18 Fixtures and Results

Shogun Conference

Sunday 27th August  Ayr-Wellington 3 Highland 15

Sunday 3rd September 2017  Boroughmuir 13 Ayr-Wellington 0

Sunday 10th September 2017  Ayr-Wellington 6 Currie Colts 32

Sunday 17th September 2017  Hamilton 3 Ayr-Wellington 30

Sunday 24th September 2017  Biggar Colts 0 Ayr-Wellington 30

Sunday 31st September 2017  Ayr-Wellington 14 Stirling County 11

Sunday 8th October 2017  Ayr-Wellington 8 West of Scotland 23

Sunday 29th October 2017  Highland 0 Ayr-Wellington 30

Sunday 5th November 2017  Ayr 6 Boroughmuir 17

Sunday 12th November 2017  Ayr-Wellington 30 Hamilton 0

Sunday 19th November 2017  Currie Colts 4 Ayr-Wellington 23

Sunday 26th November 2017  Ayr-Wellington 10 Biggar Colts 8

Sunday 3rd December 2017  Stirling County 21 Ayr-Wellington 3

Sunday 10th December 2017  West of Scotland v Ayr-Wellington

Barbarian Conference

Sat 26th August 2017  Morrisons Academy 0 Ayr-Wellington 26

Sat 2nd September 2017  Ayr-Wellington 23 Lomond School 0

Sat 9th September 2017  Lenzie Academy v Ayr-Wellington - postponed due to a waterlogged pitch

Sat 16th September 2017  Ayr-Wellington 25 Balfron-Strathendrick 6

Sat 30th September 2017  Ayr-Wellington 27 Jordanhill College School 0

Sat 7th October 2017  St Columbas Kilmacolm 11 Ayr-Wellington 4

Sat 4th November 2017  Queen Victoria School v Ayr-Wellington - postponed due to a waterlogged pitch

Sat 11th November 2017  Ayr-Wellington 39 Carrick Academy 4

Sat 18th November 2017  Ayr-Wellington 10 Marr College 0