Ayr Rugby Football Club

Tomorrow Ayr host defending champions Melrose in what will be their toughest challenge of the season so far. 

A replay of both the 2017 and 2018 BT Premiership Final, both sides have become accustomed to butting heads at the business end of the competition. Although this bout falls earlier in the season- and on Ayr's annual Oktoberfest festival- they know it will be as equally competitive and could prove massive down the stretch.

Melrose, like Ayr, have enjoyed flawless starts to the Tennents Premiership so far and will both put their undefeated streaks on the line tomorrow. For Melrose, the match also provides a chance to win back the McLaren Shield, which Ayr stole from them in January. 

Blair Macpherson is set to captain a star-studded Ayr line-up when Melrose come to Millbrae tomorrow. The backline remains unchanged from the one that toppled Heriots at Goldenacre last weeknend with Warriors' duo Paddy Kelly and Rory Hughes retaining their starting positions.

Warrior and Scotland International Jamie Bhatti also comes in to give some punch from the front row. Gregor Henry also starts, with club captain Pete McCallum rested after picking up a knock last week.

On the bench Pat MacArthur could return to the Millbrae pitch for the first time in over a decade (apart from through the draft system). Cameron Reece could also be set for a home debut.

Club vice captain Danny McCluskey is accompanied by Warrior Robbie Nairn. Both will look to inject some pace and power to proceedings in its' latter stages 


The second XV are also in action tomorrow at Millbrae, facing off against Melrose Storm. Both fixtures kick off at 15.00 and you can follow the action every step of the way on Twitter @OfficialAyrRFC.


1XV: G. Anderson, K. Rowe, P. Kelly, S. McDowall, R. Hughes, F. Climo, D. Armstrong; J. Bhatti, R. Smith, S. Longwell, D. Corbenici, M. Sykes, T. Spinks, G. Henry, B. Macpherson (C). 

Subs: P. MacArthur, R. Sayce, C. Reece, D. McCluskey, R. Nairn


2XV: H. Warr (C), H. Lynch, O. Smith, Z. Howard, J. Bova, S. Lyle, L. Young; B. Paterson, S. Collier, E. McLaren, A. North, R. Arthur, S. King, W. van Dijk, S. Rae.

Subs: K. Borland, C. Miller, L. Richardson, J. Preston, J. Pinkerton, C. Black.