Ayr Rugby Football Club

Tomorrow Ayr welcome Hawick to Millbrae in round seven of the 2018/19 Tennents Premiership.

A contrast of seasons, it has been a tough start to the campaign for George Graham's men who have picked up only one win so far. Regardless, high-flying Ayr will know all too well never to count out the borders side who always play with grit and ferocity up front.

Hawick will take confidence from their quarter-final cup encounter with Ayr last season, where they managed to bully an on-form Ayr off the ball and seal victory in front of a rampant Mansfield Park.

There is two changes in the backline with Warrior Robbie Nairn in for Danny McCluskey and Ollie Smith replacing Paddy Kelly.

In the front row Ruairidh Sayce returns to loose-head and is joined by Alex McGuire, who is in for Robbie Smith. Steven Longwell retains the tight-head spot. Alfie North and Cameron Reece both earn their first starts in Ayr colours at five and six, respectively.

Gregor Henry remains a constant in a thriving forward pack, with Blair Macpherson skipper once more. 

Craig Miller and Wolf van Dijk could both earn their Ayr debuts off the bench.

Harry Warr and Jamie Bova return to the 1XV after a spell with the 2s.

The 2XV are also in action at Millbrae, taking on Hawick Force. Both games kick-off at 15.00 and you can follow the action every step of the way on Twitter @OfficialAyrRFC.


1XV: G. Anderson, R. Nairn, O. Smith, S. McDowall, F. Climo, D. Armstrong; R. Sayce, A. McGuire, S. Longwell, D. Corbenici, A. North, C. Reece, G. Henry, B. Macpherson (C).

Subs: C. Miller, E. McLaren, W. van Dijk, H. Warr, J. Bova.


2XV: C. Black, E. Hamilton, J. Armstrong, J. Pinkerton, G. Hutton, J. Rennie, M. Manning; B. Paterson, D. Bryce, B. Lyburn, J. Yullie, L. Scott, K. Borland, L. Young, S. Rae.

Subs: C. Stillie, A. Boyd, F. Bark.