Ayr Rugby Football Club

Action returns to Millbrae this Saturday when high-flying Ayr host Watsonians.

Now in uncharted territory, it has been a historic start to the season for Peter Murchie's men who sit 8-0, their best start to a campaign in Premiership history. Number nine won't come easy and with the race for playoff places heating up Watsonians, who sit in fifth, know every point matters.

Last year both sides had strong campaigns finishing in the play-offs- at two and four respectively.

In the backs club vice-captain Danny McCluskey returns from injury and starts on the wing.

Warrior Paddy Kelly is released and starts in the 12 jersey, with Ollie Smith his midfield partner. Kyle Rowe returns to his wing after a weeks rest.

Stafford McDowall, Robbie Smith and Robbie Nairn are all retained by the Warriors.

In for Smith is Alex McGuire who joins Ruairidh Sayce and Steven Longwell in the front row. Alfie North keeps his jersey with David Corbenici slotting into the engine room for injured Marshal Sykes. In the back-row Tommy Spinks returns to join man-on-form Gregor Henry and skipper Blair Macpherson.

On the bench Stuart Collier earns his first appearance of the season and Scott Lyle returns to 1XV action.

The second XV also face their Watsonian counterparts tomorrow at Millbrae. Gordon Kotze has named a 'revamped' side with some familiar faces returning from injury.

Club Captain Peter McCallum returns from a spell on the sidelines and will look to get match-fit at eight. Paddy Dewhirst also returns and slots into fifteen. 

Also returning from injury is Amir Rademaker, who starts at scrum-half.

Both games kick-off at 15.00 and if you cant make it to Millbrae you can follow the action every step of the way on Twitter @OfficialAyrRFC.


1XV: G. Anderson, D. McCluskey, O. Smith, P. Kelly, K. Rowe, F. Climo, D. Armstrong; R. Sayce, A. McGuire, S. Longwell, D. Corbenici, A. North, T. Spinks, G. Henry, B. Macpherson.

Subs: S. Collier, E. McLaren, C. Reece, H. Warr, S. Lyle.


2XV: P. Dewhirst, E. Hamilton, J. Baird, Z. Howard, C. Black, J. Rennie, A. Rademaker; C. Stillie, D. Bryce, C. Miller, R. Arthur, L. Scott, W. van Dijk, S. Rae, P. McCallum.

Subs: K. Borland, G. Hutton.