Ayr Rugby Football Club

On Saturday Ayr welcome city slickers Boroughmuir to Millbrae for the first action of 2019.


Bolstered by the inclusion of some former Millbrae men such as Archie Russell and the Gossman brothers, Peter Murchie will be well aware of the threat the opposition pose, despite languishing in the bottom half of the table.

Although spoilt for choice with a wealth of dangerous backs, including Club XV winger Jordan Edmunds, it has been their hooker who's been the undoing of so many good sides visiting Meggatland this season. Talismanic skipper Johnny Matthews has racked up a league-best 17 tries in 14 games and will look to continue his lethal strike-rate on Saturday.

Both sides met back in October with Ayr cruising to a 17-36 away win. Scores on the day came from Stafford McDowall (2), Blair Macpherson, Robbie Nairn and Frazier Climo, with the later contributing three conversions. 

In the backs Grant Anderson returns to the full-back jersey with Rory Hughes released from Warriors. He comes in for the rested Kyle Rowe. 

The front-row retain selection after a comprehensive display at the Greenyards alongside the engine-room duo of Lars Morrice and Alfie North.

At six Tommy Spinks returns from injury and Corbenici is dropped to the bench. Alongside Corbenici is Alex McGuire and Amir Rademaker, with youngsters Craig Miller and Ollie Smith entering the fray. 

The game kicks-off at 15.00.

The 2XV are also in action against Boroughmuir at Millbrae, kicking off at the earlier time of 14.00. If you can't make it out to Millbrae you can follow the action every step of the way on Twitter @OfficialAyrRFC.


1XV: G. Anderson, P. Dewhirst, P. Kelly, D. McCluskey, R. Hughes, F. Climo, H. Warr; R. Sayce, P. McArthur, S. Longwell, A. North, L. Morrice, T. Spinks, P. McCallum (C), B. Macpherson. 

Subs: A. McGuire, C. Miller, D. Corbenici, A, Rademaker, O. Smith. 

2XV: C. Black, E. Hamilton, H. Lynch, J. Rennie, J. Bova, J. Pinkerton, M. Donaldson; B. Lyburn, S. Collier, E. McLaren, R. Arthur, C. Reece, K. Borland, W. van Dijk, S. Rae.

Subs: D. Bryce, C. Stillie, S. King, J. Preston, Z. Howard.