Ayr Rugby Football Club

This Saturday Ayr will get their first runout in this season's Scottish Cup after a failure to launch in round one due to Dundee HSFP unable to field a side. They welcome familiar foes Currie Chieftains to Millbrae in the quarter-final stage in what is setting up to be a nail-bitter.


Both sides have displayed their quality this season in domestic competition, with the two occupying first and second in the Tennent's Premiership. Murchie's Men are the frontrunners with the league top-spot confirmed with a game in hand, whilst Currie trail by eight. 

It was Ayr who put an end to Chieftains' cup hopes last season in the round-of-sixteen stage with a 26-22 victory courtesy of a Steven Longwell try in injury time. 

In the pack Robbie Smith returns from his involvement with the Warriors to start between consistent prop-pairing Ruairidh Sayce and Steven Longwell. Corbenici returns to the engine room after impressing off the bench to start 2019. 

Blair Macpherson switches to blindside with club captain Peter McCallum restored to number eight.

The backline is bolstered by the inclusion of former skipper Ross Curle, who has joined the club to provide late cover for players involved with the Warriors and Scotland U20s. 

McGuire and North drop to the bench and are joined by Ben Paterson and Cameron Reece to make up the forward replacements. 

Amir Rademaker and Jamie Bova are joined by Camie Black, who will make this 1XV debut if called upon. 

The game kicks-off at 15.00 and if you cant make the trip to Millbrae you can follow the action every step of the way on Twitter. 

The 2XV are in action at the same time on the twos pitch, and welcome Hawick in league action.


1XV: G. Anderson, P. Dewhirst, R. Curle, D. McCluskey, K. Rowe, F. Climo, H. Warr; R. Sayce, R. Smith, S. Longwell, D. Corbenici, L. Morrice, B. Macpherson, T. Spinks, P. McCallum (C).

Subs: A. McGuire, B. Paterson, A. North, C. Reece, A. Rademaker, J. Bova, C. Black.

2XV: J. Armstrong, M. Manning, H. Lynch, S. Graham, Z. Howard, J. Rennie, J. Preston; L. White, S. Collier, C. Miller, R. Arthur, J. Brown, K. Borland, W. van Dijk, S. Rae.

Subs: J. McDougall, J. Yullie, K. Beck, S. McLarty, A. Macdonald, C. Peace.