Ayr Rugby Football Club

Tomorrow the 2018/19 Tennent’s Premiership Play-Off’s get underway after 18 rounds of scintillating club rugby action.  



After qualifying as top seed Ayr will welcome defending champions Melrose to Millbrae in what is a repeat of the past two finals. With both of those having been played at the Greenyards, Ayr will take great comfort in home advantage this time out. 




The two came to blows twice in the regular season and on both occasions Peter Murchie's men walked away victors. An aggregate score of 70-32 tips the balance in favour of the home side but don’t count out Rob Chrystie’s men who rarely disappoint when it matters. The two have been the marquee attractions of club rugby over the past few years so expect a dazzling display of rugby from Scotland's finest.


A day which is already steeped in emotion is only boosted by the ten year anniversary of Ayr's first ever top flight league win. The legends of '09 will be at the pre-match lunch tomorrow and hopefully the spirit of their historic triumph can spur on the current side.


The legends of '09 will also be at the club tonight for a few reunion drinks and extend a warm welcome to anyone wishing to join. 


The backline is bolstered by the inclusion of Glasgow Warrior Ratu Tagive. James Pinkerton retains selection after a strong showing at Myreside and joins club vice-captain Danny McCluskey in the midfield. Kyle Rowe returns at 11.


The ultra-durable front-row of Sayce, Smith and Longwell spearhead the pack, with Morrice partnering Corbenici in replace of Alfie North, who drops to the bench. 


Blair Macpherson, Tommy Spinks and Pete McCallum bring attrition to the back row alongside bags of experience.


On the bench Ollie Smith and Euan McLaren return from Scotland U20s. Cam Reece and Jack Preston retain squad places and club stalwart Ross Curle returns for another outing.


1XV: G. Anderson, R. Tagive, J. Pinkerton, D. McCluskey, K. Rowe, F. Climo, H. Warr; R. Sayce, R. Smith, S. Longwell, D. Corbenici, L. Morrice, B. Macpherson, T. Spinks, P. McCallum (C).


Subs: A. McGuire, E. McLaren, A. North, C. Reece, J. Preston, R. Curle, O. Smith.


Millbrae is set to be rocking come the 15.00 kick-off time but if you can't make it down follow the action every step of the way on Twitter @OfficialAyrRFC.